Mom who wants to help her son, Ryan, go to College


I am a Mom. I am a Mom that has three great, no….make that awesome kids! I am a Mom that always intended to help her children achieve their dreams as much as possible. I am just like many other Moms. Actually, I am not just like many other Moms. Let me tell you why….

Currently I am 45 years old and I hope to see 50, but there is not a guarantee. Reason being, almost two years ago, I was diagnosed with Corticobasal Ganglionic Degeneration. It is an uncommon degenerative neurological disorder that is not curable and most people live only 5-10 years from onset of symptoms. CBGD is not a fun disease and symptoms include numerous horrible things such as alien limb syndrome, dystonia, walking and balance difficulties, muscle pain, speech issues……and more.

Since I was 17, working has been my middle name. At times, I even worked 1 ½ jobs to make ends meet. College was important to me and I made sure to put myself through school. While I went to College full-time, I also worked full-time to help pay my tuition. I worked long hours and always gave 150%, until April of 2014. My doctors wanted me to stop working prior to then, but I wanted to work as long as possible especially since I knew my son, Ryan Price, was going to start College in August, 2015. At the time, sacrificing myself was worth it if it meant financially helping my family as long as possible. Ultimately, I worked myself way too hard and all I managed to do was speed up my illness and end up in the ER with my doctors, husband and kids telling me that I was decreasing my time with my family by pushing my body beyond breaking. I stopped working which was so hard to do and I still have trouble to this day with coming to terms of not being able to have a job and feel like I am contributing.

Enough about me. This fundraiser is for my son, Ryan, not myself. The reason I have told you about my situation is so you can better understand when I admit I have failed. Failed as a Mother. I know that many would tell me that is not the case since my kids are truly great, very compassionate, caring, smart and talented, especially Ryan. The reason I feel that I have failed, I cannot financially help him achieve his life’s ambition to attend College this Fall. Perhaps, my last big achievement. I did not want him to struggle and stress to find ways on how to pay for College or if he can even afford to go. I failed to make this simple and fun for him. I failed by making him not only wonder if he will ever go to the College of his dreams or at all, but also the unnerving question of how long I will be around for him. I have failed to be his safety net.

Ryan Price is graduating High School in June, 2015. There are so many great qualities that I could recite, like most Moms, but he really is a good kid. Don’t get me wrong, he is not perfect and I have the typical battles regarding cleaning his room and taking out the trash. Regardless, Ryan is a loving son, awesome big brother, loyal friend, smart, funny with his dry sense of humor and quick wit, compassionate with animals (especially dogs and has even volunteered with animal groups) and very talented when it comes to computers. In fact, he wants to attend College to become a computer programmer and he has already proven himself highly skilled and capable by taking courses over the past couple of years while doing very well academically with programming classes. He lives for computers. Programming is his passion and his ambition. It is his goal. His, as I say, “computer, math and science brain” just clicks with it all and coding completely makes sense to him while I go cross-eyed as he attempts to explain it to me even in the simplest of terms. Plus, let’s face it, his handwriting is atrocious, so he needs to work in computers.

Financially, our life has completely turned upside down. Don’t get me wrong, we are making ends meet, but no extras. We have cut every possible corner, save as we can and creatively as trimmed down our bills while supporting a family of 5. It is still nowhere near enough to send him to College. Since our income has been drastically cut due to my inability to work and continual medical expenses, I felt the need to start thinking outside the box in order to right my wrong. It is now time to swallow my pride and humbly admit we need help (and you have no idea how hard it is for me to ever ask for help, seriously) with finding ways to raise the funds Ryan needs in order to be able to fulfill his dreams of attending the College he so desperately wants to attend and has already been accepted to start this Fall. Above all, I want him to be able to enjoy it. I want it to be his safe haven where he can focus on the beginning of the rest of his life while having fun. My illness will eventually punish him enough by losing me, but he should not be punished in the meantime by not being able to go to the College that he has worked so hard the past few years to attend.

He has been trying to raise money already. Ryan has applied for many scholarships, but none have been granted. Because of our predicament, he is having trouble getting student loans and has been denied which has done nothing but increase the desperation. Unfortunately, Pell Grants are not an option for him and he was turned down. Options are dwindling quickly.

Ryan’s dream has now become my dream, for him to attend College and hopefully, I will be able to watch him graduate. Even if I am not able to see him graduate, it would make me so proud and rest peacefully to know he was well on the road to success and beginning the career he has fought for and more than deserves.

ALL funds will be strictly used for his College tuition, campus living expenses, books and school supplies. Every penny will be for College. The initial $35,000 is what he still needs for his first year in order to attend. Ultimately, he needs approximately $120,000 to complete his degree. Any amount will be very much appreciated and help a deserving young man smile a little bigger.

If you are willing to donate, please visit: http://www.youcaring.com/ryan-price-359993

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

