PathWords by ThinkFun


My family and I really enjoy games that make you think. Crosswords, brain teasers, challenges are all great. If they are games that are educational while being fun to play that is even better!

20141205_140037_resized

We had a chance to try the PathWords game by Brain Fitness. My husband, three teens and I love it! They even got the game out on Thanksgiving and other family members also enjoyed playing it. When I see one of my teens or my husband grab the game and just start playing it without any prompting or suggestion, I know I have a new hit in our house!

PathWords consists of a spiral notebook that contains 80 challenges that are comprised of 4 progressive levels of play; beginner, intermediate, advance and expert and also 8 different plastic pieces that vary in color. Don’t worry, there is also an answer booklet.

20141205_140145_resized

To play, each page is its own challenge and the side of the page shows you the pieces required to complete that particular word puzzle.

20141205_140327-1_resized

Some of the pages will only tell you how many pieces which makes it tricky and challenging. The goal is to use the plastic pieces and cover the letters on the page so they form a word either backwards or forwards. You will have solved the challenge once all pieces for that page are used, each letter is covered and all words make sense. Sound easy? Well, maybe the beginning ones. Trust me, they get very tricky, but in a fun way!
20141205_140447_resized

Brain Fitness recommends going in order rather than jumping around and I suggest that also. They say that playing PathWords strengthens memory, sharpens focus, speeds up thinking and reduces stress. I can see it being true.

The game is a single person game for ages 8 and up. Younger kids would have to know how to spell in order to fully be able to play PathWords, so it would just depend on their reading and spelling abilities. We also have fun challenging each other, such as timing on certain pages to see who can solve it the fast. Doesn’t help much for the “reducing stress” claim, lol, but we find it fun!

Bottom line: If you like games that make you think or are a fan of crossword puzzles or puzzles in general, then I highly suggest PathWords! It would even make a great Holiday or Birthday gift. #review

Check it out: http://amzn.to/1tfz1jN

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Leave a Reply

