Undead: Ten Tales of Zombies edited by Rayne Hall


Undead: Ten Tales of Zombies, edited Rayne Hall, is a collection of short stories written by various authors from different countries that are unique, suspenseful and a fun quick read.

The book contains 10 stories penned by different writers so each short story has a different feel and read to it. Because the stories and styles vary so much, you do have to keep the fact that the authors vary in style and country origin in the back of your mind. Personally, I like the way the ebook changes from chapter-to-chapter and made for a quick, suspenseful and entertaining read overall.

I really enjoyed Undead: Ten Tales of Zombies because even though there was the Zombie underlying theme in each story, they varied and were not always your typical Zombie story that most people automatically think about when they hear the word “Zombie.” Zombies are the latest craze it seems (I admit, I am a Zombie fan) and it is refreshing to see new creativity and imagination.

I definitely had some favorite stories that I was sad to see end and I feel they could become very good longer stories. My top three picks were: Feeding Frenzy by Matt Hults, Another Oldie But Goodie by Paul D. Dail and Furzby Holt by Jonathan Broughton. Two others that almost made the top three were I’ll Love Ya, Forever, But….by April Grey and Last Chance To See by Tracie McBride. To be honest, it was difficult to pick my favorites, since I liked all of them.

The main reasons why I really liked the stories I did mentioned, I found them unique and unlike other Zombie stories that I had read in the past. They ranged from suspenseful to quirky and even some humor mixed in. Each chapter had its own tale to tell. Zombie love story to Zombie family life to a Zombie Community, there was a definite wide range or storylines!

In the last quarter of the ebook, it contains brief biographies about each contributor so you do find out a little more about them and also titles of other books they have written which is nice especially for the authors you feel drawn towards reading. In fact, at the very end of the ebook, there are short excerpts from a few different books by some of the writers so you can get a glimpse into more of their styles and possibly find other stories you would like to read. I know I found a couple.

Bottom Line: If you like Zombie short stories by various authors, then Ten Takes of Horror might be the book for you. #review

Check it out: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00AMRGK3C/ref=cm_cr_ryp_prd_ttl_sol_0

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Leave a Reply

