Scared: Ten Tales of Horror (Ten Tales Fantasy & Horror Stories) edited by Rayne Hall


I recently read the ebook Scared: Ten Tales of Horror (Ten Tales Fantasy & Horror Stories) edited Rayne Hall. It is a collection of stories written by various authors from different countries that is supposed to range from suspenseful to scary in nature.

The book contains 10 stories penned by different writers so each short story has a different feel and read to it. Because the stories and styles vary so much, you do have to keep the fact that the authors vary in style and country origin in the back of your mind. Personally, I like the way the ebook changes from chapter-to-chapter and made for a quick and fun read overall.

I definitely had some favorite stories and I have to admit, there were some I did not care for as much (writing style aside) because I found them a little confusing and instead of being left with a sense of suspense or fear, I felt more of a wondering why it ended there or an “is that it?” thought.

Honestly, the stories did not “scare” me, but there is a decent variety of thought provoking to suspenseful stories, in my opinion. Rayne does talk in the beginning of the book how fear is relative and we all have our own versions of what is scary or down right terrifying. I felt that was a useful description, because even though it sounds like common sense, it was a good reminder as you start the ebook that everyone will come away with a difference of opinion.

A few that I will mention, Ring Of Stones, Death Comes For Maggie McDaniel and Druid Stones were my top three picks. A couple close ones that almost made the top three were The Loft and Life In Miniature. Out Of Order was another one that I really enjoyed, but did not make my top three because it was one of the stories I was left with a sense that it should have went on a little more.

In the last quarter of the ebook, it contains brief biographies about each contributor so you do find out a little more about them and also titles of other books they have written which is nice especially for the authors you feel drawn towards reading. In fact, at the very end of the ebook, there are short excerpts from a few different books by some of the writers so you can get a glimpse into more of their styles and possibly find other stories you would like to read. I know I found a couple.

Bottom Line: If you like suspenseful type short stories (some readers may find scary) by various authors, then Scared: Ten Tales of Horror might be the book for you. #review

Check it out: http://www.amazon.com/Scared-Tales-Horror-Fantasy-Stories-ebook/dp/B0088IBG0E/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top/179-0028495-8710338

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Leave a Reply

