Haven: A Stranger Magic, Revenge of the Viper and Haven Series (Books 1 and 2) by D.C. Akers


Haven Book 1- A Stranger Magic

I had the opportunity to review Haven: A Stranger Magic by D.C. Akers. I really enjoyed this story which is the beginning of a Haven series.

A Stranger Magic gives insight into the main characters of the story; Sam, Sarah and Alisa Dalcome, Sam’s best friend Travis and a glimpse at characters yet to come that inhabit a world Sam never knew existed until now.

The reader learns details about the Dalcome past regarding why the Dad is no longer around, about the love and caring Mom who works hard to provide for her two children, the typical sibling rivalry between brother and sister and the strong bond between best buddies Sam and Travis that cement their friendship as they are always there for each other through thick and thin.

The story begins with a look at their everyday lives that Sarah and Sam assume are just your normal teens’ existence. But by the end of the story, you learn that they are anything but “average,” especially after Travis and Sam’s adventure into the local quarry and the mystery they uncover.

Even though the first part of the book starts out slightly slow, the story does pick up and I felt the book set up the next novel very well as the suspense builds at the end of A Stanger Magic. I cannot wait to see what happens in Book 2!

A Stranger Magic is a book that would be good for ages starting at young teens and up.

Check it out: http://www.amazon.com/Haven-Stranger-fantasy-Fantasy-Paranormal-ebook/dp/B00CR4IR7A/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1417306415&sr=1-1&keywords=haven


Haven Book 2- Revenge of the Viper

Revenge of the Viper is the second story in the Haven series. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel.
The story picks up where Book 1 left off and that involves more details revealed about the Dalcome family as Sam and Sarah learn about their parents past and the world known as Haven, battles and skirmishes that take place as good and evil battle for control and the continuation of everlasting best friendship between Sam and Travis as their lives change forever.

Sam and Sarah learn what they thought was just your average, normal teen existence is anything but, when they have to quickly hear, adapt and accept the facts about their Haven heritage, magic does actually exist and that their lives are all in danger.

At the end of Revenge of the Viper, I did not even realize that I was so close to being done with the book. I finished the last page, wanting to know what happened next and when reality set in, I kept thinking, “Wait?!?! What?! No, no….what happens next? Maybe if I keep clicking there will be another page that will magically appear?? It is a book about magic.” No such luck. Sadly, I now have to wait for Book 3!

If you are a fan of fantasy worlds, magic and/or the supernatural stories, you would probably enjoy Revenge of the Viper since it involves all of those aspects.

Revenge of the Viper is a book that would be good for ages starting at young teens and up.
Check it out: http://www.amazon.com/Haven-Revenge-fantasy-Fantasy-Paranormal-ebook/dp/B00IKJ3EBK/ref=cm_rdp_product


Haven Series Collection (Books 1 and 2)

Haven Series Books 1 and 2 is a great start and set-up for Book 3! You find yourself immersed in the lives of the Dalcome family as the story starts out with their lives portrayed as your average hard-working single parent family and then literally changes overnight as more facts are revealed about the parents’ mysterious past lives in Haven. The story just takes off from there with more surprises, twists and turns take place as Alisa Dalcome reunites with friends from her Haven past while Sarah and Sam meet them for the first time as their mom’s secrets are revealed and their lives are turned upside. Travis, Sam’s trusty sidekick and best friend, is loyal throughout the story even as their friendship is tested and Sam learns the high value that devotion from a true friend can bring.

Many characters are in Haven including, Humans, Witches, Goblins, Orcs, Vampires and Elves as they try to exist peacefully together and join forces to protect the world they created and now call home; Haven.

If you are a fan of fantasy worlds, magic and/or the supernatural stories, you would probably enjoy the Haven Series since it involves all of those aspects.

The Haven Series would be good for ages starting at young teens and up. #review

Check it out: http://www.amazon.com/Haven-Series-Collection-Books-Paranormal-ebook/dp/B00IJC9SN6/ref=cm_rdp_product

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s